Green Room Orlando :: Film and Television in Central Florida     jump to ->   New York - Miami - Tampa Bay
Logo/Front Page Link  
Logo/Front Page
Back to Current News


Jamie Ledee



Saul Production is casting for Commercial for Medical Company

University of Central Florida is casting for Before the World Was Big

iJosetv is casting for iJosetv

Florida Students Among Academy Winners
(released 6/14/2005)            Green Room Orlando News Feed Subscribe  
By greenroom wire

Twelve students from 11 different colleges and universities were honored Sunday night, June 12th as winners in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences' 32nd annual Student Academy Awards competition. Two of the winners are from Florida schools. They had participated in a week of industry-related activities and social events culminating with the awards presentation ceremony at the Academy's Samuel Goldwyn Theater. One film student from Germany also was selected to receive this year's Honorary Foreign Film Student Award.

The winners are:

Gold Medal: "Knock Knock," Jaron Henrie-McCrea, Ball State University, Indiana
Silver Medal: "Your Dark Hair Ihsan," Tala Hadid, Columbia University, New York City
(No Bronze Medal was awarded in this category this year.)

Gold Medal: "9," Shane Acker, University of California, Los Angeles
Silver Medal: "Frog," Christopher Conforti, School of Visual Arts, New York City
Bronze Medal: "Things That Go Bump in the Night," Joshua G. Beveridge, Ringling School of Art and Design, Sarasota, Florida

Gold Medal: "The Life of Kevin Carter," Dan Krauss, University of California, Berkeley
Silver Medal: "Unhitched," Erin Hudson and Ben Wu, Stanford University
Bronze Medal: "Listen," Kimby Caplan, Southern Methodist University, Texas

Gold Medal: "Wednesday Afternoon," Alonso F. Mayo, American Film Institute, Los Angeles
Silver Medal: "Victoria Para Chino," Cary Fukunaga, New York University
Bronze Medal: "Charm," Melissa Rossi, Florida State University Film School

Honorary Foreign Student Film Award
"The Runaway," Ulrike Grote, University of Hamburg

While the U.S. students knew they would each receive an award, the level of that award – gold, silver or bronze – was not revealed until the ceremony. Besides trophies, gold medalists receive $5,000, silver medalists are awarded $3,000 and bronze medal recipients are presented with $2,000.

Cinematographers Caleb Deschanel, a five-time Oscar nominee ("The Passion of the Christ," "The Patriot," "Fly Away Home," "The Natural," "The Right Stuff"), and Karl Walter Lindenlaub (whose credits include "The Princess Diaries," "The Haunting," "Independence Day" and "Stargate") served as presenters, as did June Foray, chair of the Student Academy Awards Executive Committee. Academy Executive Director Bruce Davis hosted the evening.


  Advertising    Legal     Site Index  
© 2019 Green Room Orlando. Founded in 1998.