Green Room Orlando :: Film and Television in Central Florida     jump to ->   New York - Miami - Tampa Bay
Logo/Front Page Link  
Logo/Front Page
Back to Current News


Payton Atkinson



Orlando Indepedent Filmmakers is casting for Kenji: 2065

Brick Creative is casting for Script Commercial

Ambrose Films is casting for Sharlina's Blues

2008 Florida Film Festival Awards
(released 4/8/2008)            Green Room Orlando News Feed Subscribe  
By Douglas Lorah

The awards presentation for the 2008 Florida Film Festival took place at the Winter Park Racquet Club on Saturday, April 5th. The presentation immediately preceded the Revel 17 Closing Night Party.

Peg O'Keefe hosted with humor as she quickly talked about the competition process, how they were divided, and who the jury members were before presenting all the awards. Present for their awards were Signe Baumane, Bill Purple, Jeremy Zerechak, Robert Martin (cast member of Pageant), Tom Gustafson, and Alex Holdridge. Holdridge announced to much applause that his film In Search of a Midnight Kiss had been picked up (IFC Films) and would be out in August.

This year's Grand Jury Award for Best Narrative Short was Man by Myna Joseph. The award also comes with an automatic qualification for consideration for next year's Academy Awards.

Following the competition awards, writer/director Don Mancini introduced and awarded Jennifer Tilly with the Artistic Achievement Award.

Full list of winners are below. For photos from the awards presentation and the Revel 17 party, go to the PhotoSeen.

Don Mancini and Jennifer Tilly


Grand Jury Award for Best Narrative Feature
In Search of a Midnight Kiss directed by Alex Holdridge

Special Jury Award for Achievement in Directing
Blackbird directed by Adam Rapp

Audience Award for Best Narrative Feature
Were the World Mine directed by Tom Gustafson


Grand Jury Award for Best Documentary Feature
Operation Filmmaker directed by Nina Davenport

Special Jury Award for Bold Truth
Land of Confusion directed by Jeremy Zerechak

Audience Award for Best Documentary Feature
Pageant directed by Ron Davis & Stewart Halpern

Grand Jury Award for Best Documentary Short
My Olympic Summer directed by Daniel Robin


Grand Jury Award for Best Narrative Short
Man directed by Myna Joseph

Grand Jury Award for Best Animated Short
Teat Beat of Sex directed by Signe Baumane

Special Jury Award for Best Ensemble Acting
A Day's Work directed by Rajeev Dassani

Audience Award for Best Short Film
Hole in the Paper Sky directed by Bill Purple


  Advertising    Legal     Site Index  
© 2019 Green Room Orlando. Founded in 1998.